Assess -v

Started by FantasyWriter, May 31, 2009, 12:55:52 AM

If the "half-breed passing itself as human" story is common enough to inspire a debate over a change in the code, then that particular shtick is probably overused.

I stopped reading after the first page.  Solution:  Make 'assess -v' return "for their race" to everyone, regardless of race.
Quote from: MalifaxisWe need to listen to spawnloser.
Quote from: Reiterationspawnloser knows all

Quote from: SpoonA magicker is kind of like a mousetrap, the fear is the cheese. But this cheese has an AK47.

Marauder Moe, I wasn't actually talking about someone hiding it from a clan or whatnot.  If they do that, then yes, they're asking for it.

I'm talking about average joe in the Byn, in House Kurac, in House Salarr, in even the Guild.  They aren't trying to get away with something, they're trying to fit in.  Which I've done in the past (but when I was a noob).  I don't play half-elves much.  When I do, I have 'half-elf' in the sdesc.  But I still looked at this particular issue and thought, 'Yeah...that does actually sound pretty messed up.'

I'm not a big fan of using code constantly, just because you've played the game awhile and know all the nuances and such that others may not, to try and 'get ahead' or to act as the 'decider' in everything.  Most people who think like that will never stumble on it by accident, get an 'oh' face, then decide they didn't notice it yet.  Altogether, the mood I got was that 'I got out it of a game command, now I know and you're fucked.  Try harder next time.' It makes the entire -mood- of the game to be competition for characters, like an MMO, rather than some respect and cooperation, like an RPG.
She wasn't doing a thing that I could see, except standing there leaning on the balcony railing, holding the universe together. --J.D. Salinger