When I Was a Newbie...

Started by Archbaron, April 13, 2009, 06:28:24 PM

• I gave all my money to the water seller hoping he'd eventually fill up my skin.
  • I didn't realize that all the time intervals were exactly 10 minutes apart.
  • I thought the Byn was a clubhouse that gave you free food and water.
  • I had a mental image of the Caravan Road running north to south, not east to west, for whatever reason.
  • I thought water was so rare that I could trade it in exchange for anything, so I attempted all the time.
  • I had a character who's mother somehow learned to read.
  • I, on this same character, asked the Byn recruiter "Where to sign" when asking to join.
  • I played city rangers who spammed listen.
  • I thought that every templar was a PC and wondered why they never moved or acted.
  • I bowed to anyone and everyone who would help me with anything, which freaked them out and made them run away (obviously).
  • I sat in the Vivaduan temple all the time and watched the NPCs cast spells, thinking it was cool and totally a social norm.
  • I emoted sweating so well that I was accused of being a Vivaduan, and after being proved not, was give 500 sid from a bet.
  • I went to the well in the 'rinth on a southsider and claimed I went there all the time as a child to the people who summarily robbed and killed me.

What did you do?
"Never was anything great achieved without danger."
     -Niccolo Machiavelli

On my very first PC, I died almost to a siltflyer after leaving the gates of Red Storm.  When some Kuraci found me at the village's north gates, naked (I had respawned) and resting up, I asked them to help me get my corpse back. Heh heh.  They helpfully steered me away from that and sent me packing, naked, on a kank to Luir's.