When I Was a Newbie...

Started by Archbaron, April 13, 2009, 06:28:24 PM

• ... I thought Assassin was teh best gild evar
  • ... I thought everyone wearing signet rings was nobility (bowing to Merchant House family members ensued)
  • ... I got Kadius and Kurac mixed up a few times.
  • ... I was around to see the kanks slowly die.
  • ... my most favorite characters were defined by what I learned while playing them, sometimes more than the things they got involved in.
  • ... I was afraid of Tuluk and going there and disappearing.

Quote from: Fathi on April 14, 2009, 03:30:49 AM
When I was a newbie, I was constantly balls-deep in NPC animations and RPTs despite not really having any concept of what 'RPT's or 'NPC's were.

I went on an RPT in the Salt Flats and there were some amazing echoes when a mekillot ran up sorta-near our group.

I remember thinking, "Wow, they coded everything! The ground even shakes when these big ol' reptiles run up!  :o"

Later on, that same PC met another mekillot and I discovered there were no warning echoes, after all.

Change salt flats with grasslands and mekillot with bahamet and this is my newb story. lol.
A staff member sends you:
"Normally we don't see a <redacted> walk into a room full of <redacted> and start indiscriminately killing."

You send to staff:
"Welcome to Armageddon."

Quote from: Synthesis on April 14, 2009, 12:20:59 AM
Quote from: Durant on April 14, 2009, 12:01:41 AM
-He proceeded to join the Byn and was taught the ropes by the afformentioned Kroz, and a hunchback sergeant with a speach impediment.
-The Byn got me going in the right track and it's been somewhat smooth sailing ever since. 
Sergeant Saitoh, I believe, was the hunch-backed one...or was his player's handle Saitorr...or both? Damn, that was a long time ago, hehe.

That was either Sergeant Iltrin or Iltran I think.