The Derth of Master Crafters

Started by The7DeadlyVenomz, November 11, 2008, 10:04:47 AM

Quote from: Lizzie on November 30, 2008, 06:17:39 PM
Yes Malken, if your goal is to get rich, then you can definitely do better as an independent, than as an employee of a GMH (family member mileage may vary).

It's just really REALLY sad that we players are reduced to playing characters who exist to get rich, while neglecting the prestige our characters will have by being able to say, proudly, "I am a Salarr weaponsmith." Or "I am a Kadian jeweler." Instead, there are crafters who use the GMHs as tools to learn new things, then leave and create new characters who show up out of the box knowing the recipes. We have crafters who use the GMHs as tools to rob from the compounds, or stockpile things at a discount, then leave and make a fortune with very little effort. We have crafters whose players will avoid working for the prestige, just because their players want to make sure their character is "he who dies with the most stuff."

I just think that's very sad.

This message sponsored by GMH Local 67.

While I can agree on some levels, there are other places where this is kind of flawed. There can be perfectly IC reasons which have nothing to do with coin that might cause people to not want to join merchant houses.

Also, 10,000 sid per RL week is a scary lot of coin, seriously. Maybe if it was a culmination one week of several other weeks worth of work (ie, a trade route that you've been building the products for for a few weeks).

Support your GMH's -and- your indies. After all, pc-to-pc interaction is the serious sweet-spot when you're playing a merchant. :D
Quote from: Wug
No one on staff is just waiting for the opportunity to get revenge on someone who killed one of their characters years ago.

Except me. I remember every death. And I am coming for you bastards.

November 30, 2008, 06:39:07 PM #51 Last Edit: November 30, 2008, 06:40:59 PM by Ghost