Charge Skill

Started by Twilight, March 16, 2004, 11:34:10 AM

Yeah I know, I studied his battles a decent amount, quite impressive stuff ;)
May God have mercy on my foes, because I wont.

Quote from: "Kill4Free"Then obviously they didnt know how to use calvary ;)
Study Hannibal, he destroyed several roman armies, and his calvary was what did it.

Some historians disagree strongly with the notion that cavalry is a decisive factor for most of the really successful historical powers.  A book called "Carnage and Culture" by Victor Hanson addresses the subject really effectively by analyzing nine historical battles (or series of battles) which actually hinged not on cavalry, but on what the author calls "shock" infantry.  His core argument is that western cultures, whose soldiers preferred direct and decisive infantry combat, have often enjoyed victories over other, more maneuver-oriented cultures, even when vastly outnumbered.

Cavalry have a number of telling weaknesses when faced with well-organized, boldly led infantry....  cavalry on Zalanthas may lack some of these weaknesses (since, for example, a kank may be more maneuverable and versatile than a horse).

Also, Hannibals great victories had more to do with his being a strong (and inventive) leader, and his enemies being weak ones, than any particular advantage of cavalry.

What topic?

Yea, it's funny. Every single republican war, the romans are like:
"Hey, lets throw some men at the enemy, lose a couple of battles until we get everything figured out. Then, we'll know the land, not get fucked in ambushes, and then we'll throw MORE men at them. We're the shit!"

Well, I just want to say I like the idea of being able to charge from a room away.

Quote from: "RandomMonkeys"Well, I just want to say I like the idea of being able to charge from a room away.
Nod, because rangers & npcs need more ways to kill from afar.