SO intimidated!

Started by Bodmerocity, August 02, 2006, 04:52:11 PM

This is exactly the type of game I've been looking to get into, but I'm SO scared to apply. I've already written backgrounds and descriptions for three characters before tossing them in disgust.

Is it acceptable to be kind of lame in game for a while before you learn the ropes?

Any suggestions for a newbie friendly sort of role?

I'm still a newbie.

Don't be scared. People are nicer and more helpful in the game than they often sound like they might be on the forums ;)

Get in touch with a helper, there are lots of good ones listed here: http://www.armageddon.org/intro/helpers.php

Make a warrior character in Allanak and join the Byn, is a frequent suggestion you'll hear. It's not the only thing you could do, but it is tried-and-true.

Very soon you'll be addicted. I certainly am.
Quote from: Vanth on February 13, 2008, 05:27:50 PM
I'm gonna go all Gimfalisette on you guys and lay down some numbers.

I suggest you get in the game and die.

Then get back in and die.

Then get back in and live a bit longer, then die.

It's really the best way to live.

And, also, to message some of the helpers.
http://www.armageddon.org/intro/helpers.php
New Players Guide: http://gdb.armageddon.org/index.php/topic,33512.0.html

Quote from: Morgenes on April 01, 2011, 10:33:11 PM
You win Armageddon, congratulations!  Type 'credits', then store your character and make a new one

Welcome to Armageddon.

My suggestion: play a character from one of the farming villages surrounding Allanak - Menos, Yaroch, or Taki. That way you can play up the "ignorant farmboy" idea about the "big city."

Don't worry about looking newbish. The very best of RPers still look like newbies the first time they're playing in Arm - you'll get over it.