Noob hawks

Started by Anonymous, September 14, 2004, 09:15:59 PM

I just have to bring this up, because I feel something needs to be changed about it. Has anyone else noticed, that when a player comes in with a pack, sleevless cotton vest, and leggings comes into the room, everyone warms up to him, either tries to rip him off, or lure him into a death trap? Maybe I am insane, but I love it when a noob walks into a tavern and sits at a bar, and the entire tavern does "look noob" and then they all warm up to him. Could someone maybe take the time to put in different clothes for noobs, or give them a cloak and less sid or something? :P

I remember when I was a newbie and was sitting in the Gaj with like 15 hp left.  One of these "newbie hawks" came to me...actually a templar, and specifically decided to molest my character.

That experience was the coolest thing I had for my entire first month.

I don't think that it's bad that people can spot new characters, and let's face it, this is better for the newbies.  Most people don't make a living luring newbies into places and killing them for their 'sid, and those who do generally get found out and dealt with.

When I see someone in newbie clothes, I try to determine if it's a true newbie, and if it is, I will see if I can help them somehow.  Maybe I'll recruit them and maybe I won't, but at least they won't be stranded in a foreign land full of spammy (with all our sdesc stuck in every emote) people who ignore them.

About the 'sid, by the way...I think that figure's pretty good, really.  If you want to get your character a tattoo, or a change of clothes or a couple of weapons or a kank or whatever, this money disappears pretty fast.
Quote from: Vesperas...You have to ask yourself... do you love your PC more than you love its contribution to the game?