Code suggestion for Hoods

Started by Mordere, July 25, 2004, 09:27:30 PM

This idea may have been suggested before, and if it has, I apologize. Now this suggestion is actually coding on another mud I used to play, that is now closed down, but I believe that doing it would be an enormous benefit to rp.

Basically, it's having two seperate main descriptions (as seen when you look at someone) One for a person without a hood up, and one for a person with a hood up. Now currently a main desc cannot be changed, and maybe this "hooded" one can't be either, once it's set in game, though I think it would be nice to be able to, so descriptions can more accurately fit the cloak. A person wearing a heavy sandcloth longcloak might trade it in for a silk one, and vice versa depending on environment.

Now, I'm not a coder, and I wouldn't have the slightest idea how to accomplish this, but I'd -love- to see it.

-M

of course, the new cloaked mdescs would have to be approved. but,  past the extra work, i'm very for this. it solves the problem of mindbenders seeing past a cloaked-masked person.

Remarkably original idea and solution to:

Raiders being recognized instantly and killed by mobs of people.

Thieves being recognized instantly and killed by mobs of militia.

Assassins being recognized instantly and killed by anyone who feels like it.

blah blah blah.

great idea.
"You will have useful work: the destruction of evil men. What work could be more useful? This is Beyond; you will find that your work is never done -- So therefore you may never know a life of peace."

~Jack Vance~

In theory, I am all for this.  A raider riding at you in full speed with the hood up during a sandstorm...well, you are not going to see the pink dot tattooed on the side of his neck, more than likely.

The question is, how can you tell whether they are wearing a separate hood, or using some veil, or wearing a full-body thobe?  Maybe it's just a sleeveless abaya?