Shields as worn item - On left forearm

Started by Pariah, December 02, 2022, 02:55:08 PM

Has there ever been any thought to having shields as a worn item with use?

Most depictions of shields I've seen (granted I'm no shield expert) they wore it on their forearm and gripped it with their hand, sometimes they had it just strapped to their forearm.

I've always viewed wielding or holding something as you're holding a stick.

Plus I'm always misplacing my shield in game so there is a little of a selfish bend on why I'm posing this.

Right now you can wear shields on your back, but that's better suited for other things, like your glasshacker or whatever.

Just curious if any thought had been made to more wear locations or possible functional wear locations for shield use.
"This is a game that has elves and magick, stop trying to make it realistic, you can't have them both in the same place."

"We have over 100 Unique Logins a week!" Checks who at 8pm EST, finds 20 other players but himself.  "Thanks Unique Logins!"

The codebase is Diku, and the way that combat is calculated uses specific hit locations to generate damage.

(https://gdb.armageddon.org/index.php/topic,54534.msg1029857.html#msg1029857)

Those hit locations are:
Head   
Neck   
Arms   
Waist
Wrist   
Hands   
Body   
Legs   
Feet   

These hit locations are pretty popular amongst most RPG games.  Even World of Warcraft have these locations, with "arms" being turned into "shoulders".

If you wear a shield on your wrist, you will benefit from the armor value provided, but you will not benefit from the "shield_use" skill.
New Players Guide: http://gdb.armageddon.org/index.php/topic,33512.0.html

Quote from: Morgenes on April 01, 2011, 10:33:11 PM
You win Armageddon, congratulations!  Type 'credits', then store your character and make a new one

There are, or were, bucklers you could wear on your wrist.

As Mansa said, however, they do not provide any coded benefit to shield_use, it is just an armor piece.