Progression of removal of play options on Arm

Started by Incognito, April 14, 2015, 11:06:43 AM

April 14, 2015, 11:06:43 AM Last Edit: April 14, 2015, 11:16:05 AM by Incognito
When I started playing Arm over a decade ago, the game was HUGE, the options were so numerous - that it was difficult not to be in awe of such an extensive game world in a text-based game.

The decision to close off Tuluk for PC play, is a milestone - that makes me sad and apprehensive.

Over the years, we've had so many playable options removed from the game world, it makes me wonder if these were really needed, and where the game is eventually headed.

In a not-chronologically-correct order - things that have been removed/modified from gameplay (either ICLY or OOCLY):
Mantis clutches
Gith tribes
Entire halfling society
Slave PCs
Mul mages (first) and then mul slaves
Blackwing tribe
Siltwinds
Dune Stalkers
Sand Jakhals
Red Fangs
Restrictions on d-elf mage play (via spec app and pre-approved only)
Haruch Kemad clan
Red Storm East
Undertuluk
Restrictions/changes to many psionicist skills
Removal of certain tribal clans
Tan Muark curtailment
Tyn Dashra
Consolidation of Tuluki templar order
Removal of some Whiran spells
Restrictions on casting inside cities
Restrictions on certain travel spells
Automated city defenses for magicks and psionics
Full sorcerors
And now - Tuluk in its entirety with all the clans that go with it.

Now, this post is not meant as a rant, or to make the top tier of Staff members look bad.

It's an honest assessment of what we're heading towards, and have been for some time now.

Sure - there HAVE been certain clans which have been added, or re-opened for play - and that is always a good thing!

The whole allure of ArmageddonMud - was and always has been the vibrant Zalanthas-spanning diversity, but it appears to be getting more and more restricted as time passes by.