completely new.

Started by hellish, August 18, 2013, 11:23:03 PM

hey there. I'm not just new to Armageddon/Zalanthas, but I'm completely new to MUDs in general.

I've been exploring the game a bit and I'm finding it something I could really get into and enjoy.

however I'm being really intimidated by the huge amount of commands it has, emoting in general, and having to keep up with everyone. having to stay 'in character' at any moments notice.. being new to RPing, everything seems really fast-paced to me and I feel a bit pressured when people speak to me, thinking of what my character could/should say or do. my responses are a bit slow.

I'm also afraid of making a mistake, maybe grammatically with the emote commands, or doing something that isn't in sync or make sense.. even doing nothing isn't IC, 'cause obviously a person will respond to stimuli in some way, right? not just sit there staring blankly. (which brings on anxiety for me to react at a decent speed)

I already messed up once in front of a few people and I felt so awkward about it I completely darted out of the room. Lol!

I've also been trying to practice doing actions and saying things in empty rooms, but sometimes people come by and wonder if I'm on drugs or something, doing stuff like repeatedly sitting/standing and whispering "hello" to myself. LOL.

does anyone have any tips or advice for me? is there a certain place I can be that is a lot more lax and slower paced, where not much would be expected of me? is there a certain area designated more for newbies?
or is there some kind of tag I can slap onto my character that says "I'm new and learning, so don't expect too much from me"? or maybe some kind of code word I could use to secretly get that point across, maybe something like "I'm new to the area and Sirihish is my 2nd language so bear with me." or "I'm a bit shy and awkward."?