Constraints and Creativity

Started by Marauder Moe, September 04, 2012, 12:25:59 PM

September 04, 2012, 12:25:59 PM Last Edit: December 05, 2012, 12:25:35 PM by Marauder Moe
When it comes to discussing Armageddon roleplaying on the GDB, I probably have a reputation for being conservative.  When people ask "would Zalanthans know X" or "would commoners say Y" I'm more likely to suggest that the answer is "no" or "probably not".

It occurs to me, though, that I've never really explained why this is.  It's not because I'm a grumpy old hard-ass veteran (though I'm not denying that I may be those things  :P).  It's because, in roleplay and just about any other aspect of life, limitations spur creativity.  When you limit your language, by say eliminating anachronistic concepts and vocabulary, you're forced to be more creative in its use.  More creative language, of course, adds more flavor to the game setting, rather than us just speaking plain old English that might be appropriate in any other domain.

Citations:
http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2011/11/need-to-create-get-a-constraint/
http://www.creativitypost.com/psychology/does_creativity_require_constraints