Advertising for Armageddon (more players!)

Started by Sokotra, October 08, 2010, 12:10:02 AM

Just had a thought come to me about advertising earlier tonight... and then I logon and see a post about player dilution.  It would be nice to have more players, especially in large cities like Allanak (or whatever larger points of civilization may be in Arm 2) where there are supposed to be large crowds.  I like the wasteland and villages and outposts and stuff, but the urban environment in a place like Zalanthas can be pretty cool as well.

Anyway, I just wanted to see if we could discuss or brainstorm on more ways to advertise for the game... especially on the web.  An idea I had was to start advertising Armageddon less as a MUD and more of a paperless D&D type game where all the calculations are done for you.  I guess they are both pretty much the same, but MUD is an old term that may be turning some people off or not even being understood at all.  I'm no expert, but that is just my guess.  I suppose we could call it a MMORPG, but then you might draw a lot of people looking for something like World of Warcraft and immediately leave without trying it because it is text-based. 

My main idea is to focus more on a new way of advertising... like along the lines of an "automated D&D" type game with our target group being people that would be interested in playing a text-based, paperless D&D type game.   Or find ways to advertise something like this, in an attractive manner, to the new generation of gamers out there.  I'm sure someone else could word it better than me and maybe come up with some more ideas along this line of thinking.  If this has all been discussed to death before, feel free to post the link to the thread.  I didn't see much when I searched for advertising here on the GDB.