Idea: "OOC status" command

Started by Thunkkin, February 08, 2009, 08:37:47 PM

The discussion about the "review flag" has got me to thinking ... there are times when I wish I could convey certain OOC information to the staff about what I'm doing: information that is a temporary thing and certainly doesn't require e-mail.

Examples:
set oocstatus I'm currently studying for a math exam, so I'm not going to be doing much solo rp in my apartment, but I'm idling here in case someone needs to reach me.
set oocstatus I have a really bad cold and my head is full of snot.  I'm not feeling very creative, but it cheers me up to just be biffing around aimlessly in my clan compound.
set oocstatus I'm having serious connection issues, so I'm not pursuing any plots at the moment that require me to go outside the gates into sandstorms.
set oocstatus I'm cooking dinner, but I'll be checking back in every few minutes in case you animate the clan gortok to bark at me.
set oocstatus I cut my hand badly on a kitchen knife and so my typing is really slow and full of typos.  Sorry23$4%.

I think we all have times when we're "on top of our game" and other times when we're not.  Sometimes, I -know- I'm not and I wish I could have a little flag that lets the imms know that I'm not unaware of the fact that I'm being a bit boring and that I have some (valid?) reasons for what I'm doing.  The think command is great to explain IC behaviour (why is he peeing in that vase?).  But an oocstatus command might be handy to let the staff know about outside factors that are influencing a player's current, short term behaviour. 

Thoughts?
Quote from: Synthesis
Quote from: lordcooper
You go south and one of the other directions that isn't north.  That is seriously the limit of my geographical knowledge of Arm.
Sarge?

While I understand, I'm pretty sure most things like this would be a give-in, or the staff really wouldn't care.