Mapping

Started by Ocotillo, September 15, 2007, 01:55:15 PM

I tried making maps for a while... kept dying... gave up... tried again... finished one direction from a city... died again...

...it's really important to keep a live character in the zone you're mapping, or else they're pretty pointless.

I "found" a map after I had been playing for about six months. All it did was help me to realize what the bazaar in 'nak actually looked like. Other than that I still use my head for everything. Haven't even opened it again.

When I first started playing, I used to make square-connections (squares for the room and connections for which direction I could go in) for almost every room - Centering around the Gaj. Lol.

Now, everything is by memory. If I forget - Then it means my character forgets.

No one's perfect.

Even a ranger who's lived somewhere all his life is apt to forget something.
Quote from: LauraMars
Quote from: brytta.leofaLaura, did weird tribal men follow you around at age 15?
If by weird tribal men you mean Christians then yes.

Quote from: Malifaxis
She was teabagging me.

My own mother.

I use Microsoft Excel, personally. I made a very extensive map including everything from the silt sea to the salt sea, to the gates of drove, and the hellpits of Suk-krath. However, I lost it when my computer crashed a few years ago and just havn't wanted to do another one. It was pretty big, it had 8 tabs of greatness.
Quote from: Cutthroat on September 30, 2008, 10:15:55 PM
> forage artifacts

You find a rusty, armed landmine and pick it up.

QuoteI go oldschool and use something called memory. You'd be surprised how accurate it can get.

I've never mapped any mud ever.

Only problem I have is that I have to keep making my PCs older so that I can realisticly have them know the things I do.

I tried having one who was younger and did not know zalanthus within the last three years and failed horribly.
A gaunt, yellow-skinned gith shrieks in fear, and hauls ass.
Lizzie: