Disabled characters

Started by amish overlord, July 03, 2006, 01:58:34 AM

Have you played a character with a disability?

Yes
30 (51.7%)
No
28 (48.3%)

Total Members Voted: 56

Voting closed: July 23, 2006, 01:58:34 AM

Have you ever played a character with a disability such as blindness, muteness, deafness, etc? Non mutations.

How did you like it? Did you rp it out or codewise.

I played a blind character at one point and did not have codewise, used rp. Would use look and other things to tell me about the person, such as if they had something that made noise and rp'd accordingly. I never used visual information but stuff that would make a sound, creaks of leather armor and such.

It was an itnresting experience any thoughts, likes dislikes.

Amish Overlord  8)
i hao I am a sid and karma farmer! Send PM for details!

No, I've played sick or injured, but never disabled.  Well, I did have a one-handed character for a little while, but she lost the hand in game, so it wasn't like I set out for her to be disabled.  It was code wise, a helpful imm removed the hand wear/wield location when the hand was lost, though strangely her finger locations persisted, so it required some fancy shuffling with a few extra rings to get all of her rings onto fingers on the hand that was left.  It was a few years ago and I don't really remember what happened with it.  She didn't do manual labor for a living so it didn't seem to be a huge disadvantage.

Ever since the missing eye became a scar you could get in the HoK one-eyed characters seem to be more common.  I think it would be cool if they showed off their lack of depth perception more often.  

Angela Christine
Treat the other man's faith gently; it is all he has to believe with."     Henry S. Haskins

I played a one-eyed character once, and a couple of facially disfigured characters. I've also had my fair share of sick and diseased bastards.