Punishing New Players - a good strategy

Started by Anon, May 19, 2006, 01:36:46 PM

I'm new to Arm but not to RPI muds or rping in general (been doing it for over 20 years). But I will be leaving Arm after 2 short weeks. The reason? Well, I'm sure there will be a ton of disagreement, but I feel that the game as run punishes new players. It's run as a preserve for the clans and the high clan pc's. Anything which might upset the status quo in the tiniest way is squashed.

I believe this manifests itself in many ways, from Imm actions to the prejudices of the player base. One glaring example is the cult of "common sense" which seeks to smash most new ideas bandied about the GDB. A good idea arises and we get a host of theories on why the game world wouldn't allow or permit such a great idea. The love of the status quo simply preserves the powers that be, again discouraging new and potentially exciting play.

More specifically, my new character had an interaction and devised a response perfectly in keeping with the pc's background. I spent almost the whole of my first week on Arm enacting the response. This response was not to unfairly enrich or empower my pc, in fact it was brazen, some might say fool-hardy. I was excited at the great potential rp to follow. Well, I recieved an email indicating that my action was going to be undone since I had not rp'ed it. I was baffled, I responded to the email, arguing my case. I even have the logs of the ic actions that took place. The response? A week of silence from the staff.