Bash - New Feature

Started by cyberpatrol_735, November 03, 2004, 11:02:45 PM

I was thinking, and well, I'm a cop, we do a lot of door bashing, could it be possible to code it where you can "bash door <direction>" And have a chance of it bursting open? The downside is if you fail you could seriously injure yourself or knock yourself out, half-giants would get a huge bonus, humans normal and so on, thoughts?
For FantasyWriter:
Never again will I be a fool, I will from now on, wrap my tool.

I love this idea :) But:
* Would it be possible to destroy the door in this way?
* If the above is true how can a door be fixed without imm intervention?

This subject has been brought up before...  people want a coded action to open up locked doors.  It has been shot down a few times by a multiple of reasons.  Right now, however, the general idea is for you to role-play that you're breaking down the door, and then wishing up and asking the immortals to help you out with the scene.
New Players Guide: http://gdb.armageddon.org/index.php/topic,33512.0.html

Quote from: Morgenes on April 01, 2011, 10:33:11 PM
You win Armageddon, congratulations!  Type 'credits', then store your character and make a new one

Well, thinking, maybe the door would fly open, thereby "breaking" the lock (unlocking it) So that when you leave and shut the door behind you, it is left unlocked and is up to the owner to lock it back up. I see this coming in handy for soldiers/templars. There would have to be a reasonable failure chance though, so that people dont just bash doors instead of have them picked, etc...
For FantasyWriter:

I'm going to support this idea, to the extent that I support any code suggestion that will enhance the freedom with which players can explore the game system.

I think that door bashing should include a relatively high chance of getting crim flagged, so that only burglars can get through locked doors safely.
'm helpful to noobs, ask me questions, totally noob friendly.