Some personal play data I guess

Started by valeria, October 12, 2021, 08:07:11 PM

It feels really stupid to make a thread for this, but I wanted to take a deep dive into my data to see if I actually play less these days, or if it just feels like I play less because I've got more stuff going on.  I kind of miss the Random Armageddon Thoughts thread, though this turned into more of a, I don't even know what this is, I guess this is a data-sharing exercise?

From April 2009 to present, I've played 11,184 hours of Armageddon.  It turns out to be exactly 466 days.  Over one year and three months, actually logged into the game and playing it.

I was 23 years old when I started playing.  I've played 44 characters.  70% have been human, 88% have been mundane.

When I take out penned gladiators, I play a mean average of 29 days a character, and a median average of 3 days a character.  In other words, if I actually get into a character, I stick into them for a while.  17 characters died (including 4 penned gladiators), and I stored 27 (including 1 plot-over special role, and 2 gladiators).

My shortest-lived character was a dwarf ranger/scavenger in 2010 who I played for 5 hours and stored because she had a stupid focus.  Her focus was "collecting plants" and then I found out that there were not actually a lot of plants in the game at that time.  My most total hours for any given character was 1,715 on Ostren Oash, between 11/26/18 and 03/23/19, who I stored because of COVID-19 related stress.  My second most total hours was 1,313 hours on Rusimell Fale between 08/31/14 and 08/13/15, who I stored because my grandma and grandpa were both ill at the same time and I was stressed out.  It turns out that I store most of my nonsponsored characters for sponsored roles, and most of my sponsored characters because of RL stress.