The hairless dwarf

Started by Rhyden, October 23, 2004, 12:12:33 PM

Do you prefer dwarves with or without hair/beards?

Yes
27 (45%)
No
33 (55%)

Total Members Voted: 60

Voting closed: October 23, 2004, 12:12:33 PM

Man, back when I was a wee noob, I'd look at a dwarf in the tavern and automatically think they had a long, rich beard of sloppy, messy hair. When I made that emote about that dwarf's beard, was I embarassed when the now suspectible OOC message came up: Dwarves don't have hair! Although I've learned to accept this and become used to it, the whole idea with dwarves and no beards still troubles me.

:arrow: First, and foremost, how exactly do dwarves -not- have any hair? Some sort of magick from what I've read, but still, it doesn't make too much sense, to me at least.

:arrow: When I think of a dwarf, for so many past experiences and reasons, I automatically think of a long beard, like in so many books, games, and movies we've all read, played and seen. Such great phrases as "By my beard" or "May your beard last a hundred years" can't be existent. Without this, the whole idea of dwarves is lost to me.

:arrow: I'm still trying to picture the idea of an ArmDwarf in my mind but it keeps on coming out as a really muscular and ugly baby.  :?:  I'm sorry, but even if ArmDwarves are hairless, I keep them hirsute in my mind.

- I'm a huge dwarf fan and I love the creativity put into the new versions of dwarves in Armageddon, but it still just doesn't work for me, anybody else feel the same?

Woops, post got screwed up, just say 'yes' for beards and 'no' against. Sorry! My bad.

I agree. I hate the idea of dwarves without hair. It bothers me  :shock:

-GF

Well, crap, I voted yes because I like dwarves without beards!
:-D

It took me awhile as a newb to get into it as well.  Same thing with the elves.  "They ain't sexy" as they say.

However, after spending a long time (like six-eight months - long time for me) as a dwarf, I got used to it.