Beginner

Started by Aqua, July 18, 2004, 03:58:00 PM

Im a newb and I started a file, wandered around town... attempted to steal some stuff (i was a pickpocket) and I died... i always got caught, and I died within like 1 hour... I need some newbie tips and thief tips!

Setting 'nosave on' will cause you to give-in to guards trying to arrest you, so they'll throw you in jail instead of killing you when you automatically attempt to escape.  You will also learn a ginormous bit more from talking to other characters than trying to learn everything on your own.  They probably won't tell you where to find the sekrit hat of ubertheftyness, but signing on with a clan could get you a cover-job (so people won't suspect you quite as much of thieving) and this will also give you a source of food+water while you carefully learn the ropes of stealing.  Yay thieves!  :twisted:
Murder your darlings.

Contact a Helper. They can give advice when you get stuck.

Welcome and good luck. :)

Another piece of advice...Thieves are much tougher to play for beginners than most people think.  I suggest making a warrior for your next character.

But good luck to you either way.
'm helpful to noobs, ask me questions, totally noob friendly.

"Mail mud@ginka.armageddon.org if you think you've crashed the game."

--Nessalin

Weellll, where can I join a guild? And also, is there a way to tell whos an NPC or a PC?

If you want your character to join a criminal organization, what you need to do is find one in the game and try to wiggle your way in.

The documentation might give you some hints as to where'd be good places to look.  Then again, most criminal organizations operate below the radar, right?  So finding them may take a bit of work on your part.  One thing you can be sure of is that wherever there are a lot of people in Zalanthas, there are criminals.  Good luck with the search!