Pie in the Sky: Tactical combat

Started by Mexie, May 28, 2004, 03:01:11 AM

Disclaimer: I'm not a coder, never have been and have no idea what is viable.  That having been said, I had an idea regarding MUD combat.

Frankly, I'm surprised that there hasn't been a whole lot of innovation through the years, namely a combat system that is more interactive and customizable.  Basically, it's just been more of the same, MUD after MUD.  Each opponent mindlessly hits the other until one is dead, with various parrying and blocking variables factored in, as well as the occasional special attack.  The way I see it, MUD combat has the potential to be so much more involved, fun and interesting than this... a combat system more suited to a hack and slash, clickfest mmorpg.

In real life, hand to hand combat basically consists of a complex process of feints, direct attacks, blocked strikes and the struggle to conquer your opponent's armor (if he has any).  The system that I dreamed up (remember I'm not a coder, so don't go postal on me if it's not viable.) would require an attack to be initiated through an attack command, though combat wouldn't begin immediately following the input of that command as it does in many muds. it would merely cause initiative to be 'rolled' and (just as it does now) prevent either combatant from simply walking away.  Initiative would be a function of a few things: Range, weapon speed, and overall encumbrance.  Once these are all tallied the initiative would be determined between the two combatants, and the first attack turn would be given to the winner, obviously.  Also, magic and ranged combat would be nigh impossible at this point... I hope that makes sense to you all, because it does to me, though I'm having trouble articulating just why it makes sense.  Well, maybe magic should be possible, but it still takes quite a lot of concentration and would provoke the opportunistic to attack.