Compare, our new savior!
18 (30%)
Bah, just read the description!
32 (53.3%)
Huh, I dozed off.
10 (16.7%)

Total Members Voted: 56

Voting closed: November 10, 2002, 05:29:25 PM

This would be a warrior skill, perhaps also for assassins, rangers, and other militant classes, and perhaps such subclasses as caravan guards, guards, mercenaries and the like.

It would compare either two weapons or two pieces of armor.

Like any skill, at first it wouldn't function well, and the smaller the difference in the two items, the harder the check (I'm not a coder, but I imagine an equation in the script could accomplish this).  My reasoning behind this is if you compared a dagger to a poleax, it would be easy to spot which would hurt more, where as a dagger and a knife would be much harder.

Skill Compare  (Perception)  

This command allows a person to compare the weight and quality of two armor or weapon items currently in their inventory.  This comparison would give compared weight and protectiveness/damage.

Syntax:

Compare <object1> <object2>

Example:

>inventory
A new scrabshell gorget.
A new kankshell neck guard.

> compare scrab kank
A new scrabshell gorget is less protective than a kankshell neck guard.
A new scrabshell gorget weighs less than a kankshell neck guard.
For I have loved the stars too fondly to fear the night.~

I like it, but with it I can imagine you'd see everyone eventually walking around with the same pieces of armor because they know from compare that it's the uberbest. Seeing gobs of warriors using the same armor, same weapons etc. would get very old.

Not necessarily, since the definition of "best" would vary depending on your criteria.  Some people may want armor that looks cool more than effective protection.  Some people may want light armor over heavy, and some people might just want cheap, serviceable armor.