Purple Prose Power

Started by Fredd, August 05, 2023, 09:38:54 AM

Understanding one's place in the virtual world is absolutely a sign you understand what your role entails. But I think it's more valuable when assessing RP quality to not take OOC liberties with certain staff supplied benefits.

Last time someone used the term 'purple prose' to me it was in the negative connotations, so I am just confused.

Quote from: Tailong on August 08, 2023, 09:46:56 PMLast time someone used the term 'purple prose' to me it was in the negative connotations, so I am just confused.

'Purple prose' is indeed a term used in literary critique to describe overly flowery language that seems intended to make text hard to read. As a writer I never really liked the terms 'purple prose', its opposite 'beige prose' and similar terms because it always strikes me as a little bit snooty. However I think the OP is well-intended and was simply describing a higher level of detailed writing in emotes.

---

Response to the OP:

While I do believe that emote quality is tied partially to roleplaying quality, I don't think the connection is "stronger emotes = better roleplay". I do believe that very brief emotes absolutely have their place in a good roleplayer's repertoire. Many writers use sentence length to denote the pacing of a scene. If you read a lot, you'll notice that action scenes tend to use shorter sentences. Scenes that happen at a normal pace, but have a sudden event interrupt them, are usually capped with a short sentence describing that sudden event. Slower or more intricate (or more intimate!) scenes tend to have longer sentences. Scenes that are dialogue-heavy in fiction are more descriptive of character actions and the situation around them when the conversation is calm, and less descriptive when characters are having an argument or are in the midst of a fight.

So, "em grunts" is potentially good roleplay... in the right context.