Which client to use

Started by Snapdragon, February 12, 2015, 12:50:02 PM

Hey there everyone.   So, after years and years of using SimpleMu it seems the site has gone down either temporarily or permenently.  Somehow my program got corrupted, and it's chopping off the tops of most of my letters in emotes, crafting, etc and because the website went down, I can't just redownload the program.   I'm looking for a good mud client to use that won't drive me nuts trying to figure out.   Any advice out there for me?  SimpleMu was my first client and I've been using it over 12 years
Obscurity is the refuge of the weak.

I use Mushclient most of the time. I understiand it has heaps of customization, but I just use it like a simpleton, and get by.

Mudlet is a good one too.
Fredd-
i love being a nobles health points

If you like minimalist clients yet with every feature you could possibly want (except an automapper but let's face it they all suck anyway) then I recommend tintin++. I am an expert and can help you get setuo. Only thing I haven't mastered are unix  regular expressions but you don't need those for most things.
Useful tips: Commands |  |Storytelling:  1  2

If you want to be truly hardcore, and don't want to use a telnet client, you can use GMud.

If you aren't a SERIOUS MASOCHIST, Mushclient tends to be pretty common.
Quote from: IAmJacksOpinion on May 20, 2013, 11:16:52 PM
Masks are the Armageddon equivalent of Ed Hardy shirts.

I would still be using Gmud because of its simplicity, if my logging hadn't gone bug like on me.

Quote from: solera on February 13, 2015, 02:48:36 AM
I would still be using Gmud because of its simplicity, if my logging hadn't gone bug like on me.

The ONLY thing I want out of it, is to program in a timer function so I can echo back like "Its been 20 minutes" or whatever I'd need it to do. I like to program in idiosyncrasies, like random coughs for the sickly, etc.

The source code is out there. Someone get on that.