Help with background

Started by Tamago, July 29, 2013, 09:22:52 PM

Hello everyone, this is my first post :D

i need a bit (read as plenty) of help with my character's background, i'm a complete newbie, new to Armageddon, MUDs and RP, so i've been having a hard time coming up with a background.. so to start i guess i just need something that would make my learning easier.

not sure what else to say, all help is welcomed, and while waiting i'll be reading about the game :D

Welcome!

Not sure how much of the vast documentation you've had a chance to pore over yet but this page has some good info about creating your character, the last section is specifically about writing your background.

A good place to start if you're completely stuck for a background is this page with sample backgrounds.

My advice to you is to read what you can about the different races and how they relate to each other according to the help files on the website, learn the difference between Allanak and Tuluk from the help files, and then play the game as a clueless commoner.

It's seriously the fastest way to learn the game, and it's okay to have as your background, too. Playing an ignorant city-dweller who grew up in the commons has served me well many a time. Especially with your first character, it will probably be best to not aim for too high of a concept. Once you're actually in the game world, you'll pick up on the details of culture and history and whatnot much quicker than just reading the docs.

Of course, you should definitely read the docs so you don't make a bearded dwarf or a yokel fascinated with wizards and magick.  ;)
Quote from: nessalin on July 11, 2016, 02:48:32 PM
Trunk
hidden by 'body/torso'
hides nipples

July 29, 2013, 09:48:00 PM #3 Last Edit: July 29, 2013, 09:52:16 PM by Morrolan