Music

Started by spawnloser, July 29, 2003, 10:09:19 PM

Lots of musical terms in real life require one to read to be able to interpret correctly...like what the notes are being the biggest example that I can think of.  Certain things that are based off of how music is written also influences the verbiage as well...like, if there weren't only 8 notes, there would be no need for keys and registers...how would this all work in a completely illeterate society that isn't able to read to begin with?
Quote from: MalifaxisWe need to listen to spawnloser.
Quote from: Reiterationspawnloser knows all

Quote from: SpoonA magicker is kind of like a mousetrap, the fear is the cheese. But this cheese has an AK47.

I've been playing guitar since I was 10 years old, and piano since I was six. I didn't learn to read music til I was 11, and had no problem putting sounds together to create melodies.

One does not have to read music to understand or learn it. One only needs to be capable of remembering the sounds, and in composing, the logistics of a thing called the circle of fifths. The Circle is easier to comprehend if you can read music, but if you have a good ear for music it isn't necessary.

But I wonder, would the Zalanthan music structure even have a circle of fifths? I doubt the music would have developed the same way. Instead of the difference between notes being the... erm, twelfth root of two, or somesuch, you might end up with that middle A, or A4 (I'm rusty on my theory) being a 440 Hz frequency, but the next semitone might not be our classic Ab/B# at ~466.16 Hz, but perhaps something like... 457.89 Hz.

Probably best to assume their music is like ours. Because there's probably some reason our music system developed as it did, and I just don't know about it.