Knock 'em out.

Started by Anonymous, June 05, 2003, 03:57:48 AM

I thought I saw something about this a while back but I can't remember for sure so I'll just ask.
Any advice on how to train sap?
Also, would it be poor RP to attempt to sap animals?
I'm thinking it would be alright to try since it's a blow to the head attempting to knock the target out and animals can be knocked out as well right?
Let me know what you all think please...I've never used sap before and would like to do it correctly.

Training Sap is tough, you might have to look to gain knowledge of Sap without actually using the command.

You can use it on animals, sure, but animals are completely different than sentient creatures.  Some have poor instincts and you can sap them with ease.  Others are sharp.  But they are by and large physically different.  What causes the effect of sap, is it the force of the blow on the skull that shakes the brain enough to make it shut down briefly?  Or is it a complete halt of all bloodflow for a brief second?  Where is the Sap point on an animal, versus a humanoid?  Where is the sap point on an exoskeletal creature like a Scrab or Ant, versus the point on vertibrate animals?

Perhaps you don't know that much about Sap to start, perhaps you first have to observe the indirect effect of a hard blow on a creature, for example the effect of a hard club to the head, versus to the neck, body, shoulder, etc.

You also need to get in Sap time on these things, which means you either need to head out hunting and make sure everyone doesn't just enter the room with the creature and type Kill first thing, you have to see if you can get your own time in for practicing a specialized skill, and that might mean telling everyone, or it might mean confiding in one or two people you can trust.