Re: I'd Like To Encourage-DERAIL

Started by RogueGunslinger, February 23, 2009, 12:13:54 AM

If I was conducting a job interview, and all the interviewee would say about his abilities is "I can do stuff," I think I'd be well within my rights to be suspicious.

I mean, who goes into a Kadius interview and won't reveal anything about his background?  It's not your -right- to be hired by a GMH or a noble house.  You have to -prove- your worth on a continual basis, and if you can't even prove you're worth a shit during the interview...why are you looking for the job in the first place, you worthless scumbag?

If you picked a 'gicker guild with a subguild completely unrelated to the job you're attempting to get, you might want to think long and hard about how and whether you can successfully pull off the sort of deception required to get away with being utterly useless in any coded sense.

If I, in real life, fraudulently applied for a job as a computer programmer, I would be found out in less than a week, because I know squat about computer programming.  In real life, where things are nice and easy, I might get slapped with some sort of fraud charge (at the worst), but I'd probably just get fired.

Maybe I have higher expectations for brutality in Armageddon.  If I were playing a GMH boss-type, and some dude came in and wasted my time (and possibly my stock of hard-earned raw materials) by fraudulent enlistment, you can bet your ass you'd be seeing that dude's boots in the shop next week.  If I hire a guy to craft swords, and he never turns out a single blade, his ass is mine.  If I hire a guy to spring locks, and he ends up breaking five lockpicks and getting arrested, his ass is mine.  If I hire a guy to hunt duskhorn and I end up having to save his dumb ass every time we go out the gates, his ass is mine.