'assess -v' and 'view'

Started by SailorMars, May 21, 2003, 02:02:45 PM

Hi,

I've noticed there is some valuable information you get from 'viewing' an item in a shop: Can you handle the weight, where can you sheathe it, how hard the pull of a bow is, etc.

Far as I know, assess -v does not give those bits of information. However, they would be very useful when trading between PCs, and the bow pull information would be handy any time.

My questions are:
1) Is there a way to get the 'view' information from an item in your inventory?
2) If not, could the information from 'view' be appended to the information from 'assess -v'?
color=darkred][size=9]Complaints of unfairness on the part of
other players will not be given an audience.
If you think another character was mean
to you, you're most likely right.[/color][/size]

This was brought up on the Help, I'm a Newbie! board a while ago, but there was no immortal response.

We need information on how much a container carries and how hard the pull of the bow is from assess, and not just view. It'd be a very convenient update.

I would have to agree and add also that a comparitive tensile strength of materials guide would be nice (IE is Carru stronger than tandu or braxat? Scrab or Kank? Silt Horror or Bahamut?), if not in game then in the help docs, but Ive been after that for YEARS to no avail, so im not certain anyone will listen to that particular cry for help.

5DL
You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villany.  Except for maybe Allanak."

-Anonymous

I agree to adding bow pull to assess, I don't think containers as much though, since perhaps a merchant might be telling you about how much a pack can hold... certainly not which materials are stronger, you'll just have to go on description, since that way, you still have deceptive materials, some tough looking materials (IRL and in game) are actually quite crap armor, and some flimsier materials are pretty tough.