The Difficulty of Crafting...

Started by jcljules, June 11, 2008, 11:41:18 AM

I've been playing for almost 2 months now, and I -still- have only been able to figure out -one- craft. Its seemingly impossible to find basic recipes for 'starter items' in almost every craft.... and everything I analyze is uncraftable. I'm really really stuck  ???
Quote from: Gimfalisette
(10:00:49 PM) Gimf: Yes, you sentence? I sentence often.

I know it's not going to be fun to hear but your best bet is joining a clan that specializes in a certain project and then finding someone IG to teach you.  Give it time and it will come then you will one day be a badass... whatever that means.

Brandon
Quote from: Ghost on December 16, 2009, 06:15:17 PMbrandon....

you did the biggest mistake of your life

Instead of looking for finished products to analyze, perhaps start trying out random raw materials?

Yeah, start from the ground up. Simple materials that are easier to get.

From the ground up would be a little less impossible if the "view" command at least hinted to the craftability of raw materials. A "You could probably make something out of this" would suffice I'm sure. I know my last crafter-type pc spent well over 3000 coins (<-newb money AND from loan that never got paid back) buying materials that looked like they could be crafted into some weapon, before finally making something. Like that massive horn that was all big and spikey that was bought at the raw goods store. Surely I could just stick a handle on this and have a deadly mace of some sort. Huh? No? Oh well.... Guess I'll just waste another good bit of 'sid on some worthless object that surely looks like it would make a weapon....

I would imagine a crafter worth his weight in beans would be able to look at something and have an idea forming in his head of what he could make from it before wasting his precious money.

June 11, 2008, 06:41:00 PM #5 Last Edit: June 12, 2008, 12:01:15 PM by Salt Merchant