Safe to quit mounted?

Started by racingspider, April 28, 2008, 02:54:32 PM

Hi,
Loving the game, and have a question. In the stables, you can 'quit' there. So, I did that and when I came back, it took a little while for my mount to appear and it kinda worried me (since it wasn't there when I entered).
Is it safe to quit in the stables or was I lucky on getting my mount back? I understand how to rent, but if I'm quitting for a few hours and plan on riding back out I don't want to waste the paltry 20 sid it costs (just starting out, gots to save the money! :D ).

I feel somewhat responsible for starting this whole "lets talk about mounts and quitting trend"  ::)

But I think ... think ... you should be able to quit out with the mount hitch to you and have it there when you come back in a stable. But I'm no expert ...
Quote from: Marauder Moe
Oh my god he's still rocking the sandwich.

If you and your mount can get into a QUIT room together, you can quit out there together.

Make absolutely certain that your mount is hitched to you before you do so.  I always hitch and mount it before I quit out in a stable.  Doing it this way, when you log back into the game, you'll be on your mount, but it will no longer be hitched.  Rehitch it and go on your merry way.
"Never do today what you can put off till tomorrow."

-Aaron Burr

I took about a 9 month break from the game, and this seems new and foreign to me.

Why and when were stables made quit rooms?

Another idle mount/crash related question popped into my head. Sometimes you can leave the room your mount is in without having them become "unhitched". For example, if you make the mount rest then go somewhere using the "enter <this place>" syntax, or if you just dismount and go east into a room the mount can't follow. Going any further than one room away always unhitches the mount, but you generally have a little wiggle room.