Question about saving

Started by spicemustflow, March 24, 2008, 07:59:49 PM

I don't get why some rooms have Save next to the room title, when you can save anywhere? Is it a friendly reminder to do it? I never do it anyway...

edit: I'm a retard, probably a leftover from when it wasn't possible anywhere...

It is a room where items can be stored and don't disappear after a reboot or crash.

Amish Overlord  8)
i hao I am a sid and karma farmer! Send PM for details!

Also, if you do not wish to see those extra bits at the top, you can just turn it off by typing brief novice.
For FantasyWriter:
Never again will I be a fool, I will from now on, wrap my tool.

You can save your -character- anywhere, regardless of room type.

Save rooms, however, operate like amish overlord said.. you can drop something there, and it'll stay through a reboot/crash.

How are mounts (and/or other NPCs) affected by save rooms?  [I think a mount must be in a save room--or stabled--to survive a reboot?]

What about wagons?  [I think wagons are saved regardless of where they are; maybe it depends on the make and model?]
The sword is sharp, the spear is long,
The arrow swift, the Gate is strong.
The heart is bold that looks on gold;
The dwarves no more shall suffer wrong.

mounts save in saved rooms.

clans typically have (save) in their stables so people can store community mounts.

To Recap

A wagon is persistent over reboots. If the mud crashes and your wagon is out in the salt flats, it should be there when you return. There is a bug where they may duplicate though, in which case just wish up to staff and they'll fix it for you.

Items/mounts must be left in save rooms.

You can save your character anywhere.

You can only quit in a 'quit' room if you are not a ranger.

It is highly advised to 'save' after 'hitching' your mount, and also after 'mounting' your mount. This prevents the mount from being lost in a crash if you are out riding it in the wastes.