Praises and criticisms from a newbie

Started by Stryker, March 13, 2008, 08:00:43 AM

Hi everyone, I've been playing Arm for a couple of months now on-and-off after a good friend of mine introduced me to the game some time ago. I made some stupid mistakes but eventually I think I got a decent grasp of the game. So I just want to throw out a few opinions of mine, good and bad, for people to discuss...

- I've seen most players are smart and helpful. They help out in an IC way so they help without breaking character.

- The game's mechanics and details are amazing.

- I can't play often but the cool things I read about on IC boards make me wish I did...

- The jail. Wow. I've seen a couple of interrogations in my time, and they were so crazy, Guantanamo-ish... makes me wish I get arrested more often :)

However...
- I feel like my short playing time would restrict me from clans :( is this true?

- I found it really, really hard to play a thief realistically when (at least I think so anyway) the victims are not. They tend to stand up from wherever they are then I see "so and so intently scans the area" (which I assume is the scan skill, right?) Of course, I've seen a few that don't do this, and oh how I love them so much... but most defend their little things to such an insane degree in this game. Then my characters end up getting blocked out of the room in a rather unrealistic manner, or killed. This has pretty much pushed me away from being a thief, since I don't really want to spam-practice stealing a coin from the floor, or only targeting NPCs.

That's pretty much it. I'm running this character that got a ton of responsibilities pretty much just as he got out of the hall of kings, and I'm having a blast.

stealng from players is kind of like attacking players

you fight NPCs or spar with PCs before you start attacking players, mostly

same with stealing, steal with NPCs or practice on PCs before you start really stealing from players