Mul intelligence

Started by amish overlord, August 31, 2006, 04:45:32 PM

I am curious how intelligent is a mul? Know they are physically stronger than both humans and dwarves, due to statue, being taller and more muscles. They are hardier as well. From the race helpfile seems to indicate they can be as smart as a human so could technically be a genius (but limited to intellectual growth due to upbringing).  Is this the consensus?

Amish Overlord  8)
i hao I am a sid and karma farmer! Send PM for details!

Quote from: "Racial Documentation"Physically, muls bear most of the bulk of their dwarven parent, being extremely strong and rugged. Most of the height and cunning of their human ancestry is preserved as well--from a purely Scientific point of view, a much better product than half-giants.

So pretty much they're almost as smart as humans on average.

But a mul will practically always be bred for nothing but fighting, so don't expect to see many brilliant, poetic muls.
b]YB <3[/b]

Oh god... mulish poetry...

Muls are probably a little smarter than dwarves.  Their primary advantage is that muls don't have a Dwarven Focus, which means their thinking is far, far more agile.

That said, muls are basically viewed as killing machines by most people - and the slavers that breed them aren't likely to care about their intelligence.  Outlaw groups that contain muls (or are led by ones) might see that muls aren't particularly stupid, but they're still not as sharp-witted as a human (let alone an elf).
Quote from: Vesperas...You have to ask yourself... do you love your PC more than you love its contribution to the game?

Muls tend to be very introspective and emotional, as well, so they may be smarter than humans at certain things. There's reference in the documentation, for example, to the fact that they can make very awesome leaders.

I don't think there's a cap on their intellectual potential, or capacity for brilliance, however, they are emotionally stunted.