Nobles

Started by From a Noble Family, June 18, 2006, 06:21:39 PM

Quote from: "Seeker"In my experience, this approach is a recipe for having the rest of your character's existence becoming entirely beholden to the fickle, selfish scheming whims of whatever Noble you approach with such an offer.

Well, just thinking about things from the player's perspective, noble players probably get somewhat starved for RP, so if someone is brave enough ICly to approach them, then it's going to be normal impulse to continue to try to engage ICly. Isn't that what we all do, once we've met someone at the tavern? "Oh hey Amos, I'm SO glad you came in, come help me with this thing..." But nobles of course have to maintain a particular IC attitude of selfishness etc. or they get accused of being "too nice."

I haven't played a noble (obviously, since I'm still a noob), however it sounds like a really tough role. Can't approach commoners yourself; can't be too nice or really interactive or interested when you're approached; yet you're supposed to create things for people to do and involve people; yet again, supposed to stay at arm's reach...A bunch of big catch-22s.
Quote from: Vanth on February 13, 2008, 05:27:50 PM
I'm gonna go all Gimfalisette on you guys and lay down some numbers.

Quote from: "Ava"All right, nobles: can you give us commoner-types some concrete examples of interactions that a generic noble character might welcome?  What can J. Random Amos do for you?

I'm aware (thanks to some of the posts in this thread) of what a noble can do for me...but why and when they would is harder for me to grasp.

Here are some that should work just fine in the north:

tell lord Chosen Lord, care for a game of cards?

tell lady Chosen Lady, do you have a moment to speak about whateveritishousedoes

tell lord Might I buy you a drink?

tell lady I was hoping to talk to you about X.

tell lord I would like to introduce myself to you.  I am so blah.

tell lady Hi!  I'm X.