Yes
27 (31%)
No
36 (41.4%)
Find out IC
24 (27.6%)

Total Members Voted: 86

Voting closed: December 28, 2005, 01:19:43 AM

the aide has to speak well because he must be atleast reasonably less disgusting to the noble then any other. Basically, it's not that an aide has to speak well, but only those who speak well are aides.

Thank you for that link, that was a pretty interesting read. I gotta say for an experienced person, it's much grittier to be a part of faction, then be an independant. Some cash flows near Allanak, with specified merchants (like obsidian mining) are clearly created to feed the newbie population, but they are 'immense' cash flows, and that's me talking, a complete newbie.

survive for a while in redstorm, as an indy non-ranger.
If you gaze for long enough into the abyss, the abyss gazes also into you.

www.j03m.com

*shrug*

From what I read, there's a lot more places in the game that are pretty hard to survive in if you're not a ranger. Sandstorm or no sandstorm. That's more harshness, then grit.

Getting rid of facets of the game that other people enjoy to supply your
own favorite facets isn't going to improve the setting.  Gritty does not
equate to outdoorsy.  You just end up making everyone want to make
rangers, who are adept at outdoor survival anyway; it ceases to be a
novelty for rangers to be special individuals.

Allanak and Tuluk have their places in the game for contrast.  If you want
grit, Luirs and Red Storm are waiting as is the Rinth.  Suggesting a
complete abolishment of the wealthy clans because you have no interest
in them is an error on your part.
Proud Owner of her Very Own Delirium.

Quote from: "Intrepid"Getting rid of facets of the game that other people enjoy to supply your
own favorite facets isn't going to improve the setting.  Gritty does not
equate to outdoorsy.