the invisible inventory

Started by daedroug, December 02, 2005, 05:09:23 AM

Ok i'm relatively new to Arm and one thing that irks me is a few thing about the inventory. now before i start i just have to say that i love the inventory how yer able to carry arm loads of things instead of just two at a time but.... it seems very out of reality that you can't see whats in there arms by just looking at them. So unless i'm misinterpretting what the inventory is supposed to represent it just doesn't seem right. In fact the inventory is probably one of the most hidden places on a character some brute can walk up to you and say "aight ya piece o shat strip i'm talk yer stuff" and he can go and take off every thing and yet still hold all his money possibly a weapon food etc without the guy ever being able to know (short of knowing the peek command pretty darn well). thoughts?
I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.
     -Douglas Adams

A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.
     -Douglas Adams

Inventory is often roleplayed as:
Things hidden under the cloak/coat/whatever.
Small pockets.
etc...

People will often emote out things that they actually bear in their arms, to solve this little 'problem'.
Quote from: VanthA well-placed grunt can be worth a thousand words.

i suppose you can RP it that way (though why not just put the item in the pocket or cloak anyways. I'm just saying that it doesn't seem right. and that i think it will take more then the players efforts of RP, I just think it's too easy to abuse.

LOL that was me btw just realized i hadn't logged in when i posted that.
     -Douglas Adams

A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.
     -Douglas Adams

Additionally there are skills that allow you to see someone's inventory.