Just for Fun

Started by Medena, August 23, 2005, 03:46:09 PM

Ever invested a bit of effort in doing something in game you knew no one else would ever see or even know you'd done it?  But that something gave you immense enjoyment and entertainment?

Here's one of my favourites:

I worked as an aide in a northern noble house. One day my character acquired a large number of black fungus and, being a bit of a prankster, decided to dispose of them by festooning the -other- noble house's in-town compound with them.  I sneaked up to the building then, using hide and sneak, furtively emoted out draping and affixing each individual fungus to the building in different ways. Then I'd drop each one with a long desc.  I can't remember the actual descs I used but I probably ended up with something like this being what you'd see lying in the room:

A black fungus appears to grow from a carving on the building's wall.
Looming above the door, a black fungus hangs suspended here.
Several black fungus cling to the eastern wall of this structure.

My character sneaked off and I had a good laugh both IC and IRL.  I really doubt that any ever saw my creation. This was well over a year ago but if my memory serves me, the game crashed a couple of hours later. I'd entertained thoughts of trying to spread rumours about the terrible affliction House ______ was under but I never got to.  It really didn't matter though. The whole thing gave me so much amusement and to this day, I still get a chuckle out of thinking about the fungus.

Maybe I'm just weird. :)
Quote from: J S BachIf it ain't baroque, don't fix it.

You can set long descs to items, too?

>=^P

*begins thinking of things to be done that would be good enough to fit under this topic*

I invented a game my character played only in his own mind with thinks to amuse himself.

Moe.

:?
Murder your darlings.

Yes. But I'm not telling.