I'm a newbie

Started by Kennath, January 29, 2005, 02:01:56 PM

Hello zalanthians, I am kennath your friendly neiborhood crazy. I am new to Arm and theses boards. I am not new to mudding, i've been RPing on muds for 3 years. I like they idea this game has and I think is my favorite mud. The only thing I DON'T like is the horribly painful saturdaydowntimes and i'll be sure to put  that in the review. I will hopefully be able to play here for awhile, I've decided I like this mud alot and won't leave it atleast for a year or so.

Patience, Grasshopper.  Saturday downtimes might be a drag for the players, but in the long run you'll see that they are SO worth it.  It gives the IMMs some quality time to fix bugs, update code, and add new features.  That way they have more time during the week to make our PCs' lives more interesting.
Quote from: AnaelYou know what I love about the word panic?  In Czech, it's the word for "male virgin".

There are updates to the mud that can ONLY be done with no players in the game.  Downtime has to happen.  The staff can't all be expected to do the updates that they need to do all at 3am in the middle of the week so that minimal player disturbance happens.  This isn't the sort of MUD where one person sits on a throne and is the only person to implement anything like in some MUDs.  Each staff member is implementing the things they are responsible for, and need some window of opportunity to do these things while not at work or sleeping.  The weekend is the only logical choice for this downtime.  Sure, it sucks for the players, because on the weekends is when we have all the freetime in the world and want to spend it ARMing, but the game is better for it...and thus, we will enjoy it that much more.

Also, this allows you to get in more saturday morning cartoon viewing time (always a good thing), as well as some real life activities on the weekend instead of sitting in front of your computer all day.
-X-_