Your Roleplaying Sucks!

Started by sjanimal, November 26, 2004, 09:36:08 PM

How do you prefer to recieve player feedback on your roleplaying/emoting?

From a third party (ie. a staff member)
42 (79.2%)
From a breach in character (ie. OOC direct feedback)
1 (1.9%)
From a general, polite post to the GDB (global discussion board)
10 (18.9%)

Total Members Voted: 53

Voting closed: December 02, 2004, 09:36:08 PM

No matter how hard you try to be a good roleplayer and a good emoter, inevitably someone is going to decide that your roleplaying sucks and that they should correct you.

Personally, I welcome this.  I've gotten a lot better at roleplaying since I started playing ARM, and about half of this has come from watching the examples of people doing a good job.
However the other half of my improvement has really come from getting feedback.

I've seen three general ways for this:

1) Emailing an IMM -- I personally don't like using this way, because I tend to assume that the IMMs have better stuff to do than send me an email that says "Joe the Dwarf thinks that your emoting isn't so hot."  The IMMs usually recommend this method -- but of course they have to, since they are authority figures and authority figures have the responsibility to have the appearance of helping people solve problems.  The reality of the situation is that they are really busy, and secretly wish that we would solve much of our own problems.

2) Breaking character -- example

The tall handsome dwarf says,
OOC: "try to include more descriptions when you emote"
When this happens to me, usually I just smile and nod, but I also usually just make a mental note to PK the person and go log out for a while.  I don't do this on purpose.  But the truth is that although many people find this method of communication to be useful and efficient, others of us find it jarring.  

3) A general, anonymous note to the board,