A question of languages

Started by drasik, September 06, 2004, 10:47:40 PM

Ok I don't know if this is a code bug or something with the skill.

I have the skill to speak Allundean, but for some reason cannot understand it when it is spoken.

Is this a bug or is it the skill?
Don't listen to me, I'm only a newb.

If you cannot understand a language at all, this is what you will see:
'The tall muscular man says, in an unfamilliar tongue:
"gdfsa ewra"'.

If you have a limited understanding of a language, you will see this:
'The tall muscular man says, in Allundean:
"gwera weaq"'.

It probably just means that your skill level is low.  It gets better as you listen more and more to the language.
Quote from: Vesperas...You have to ask yourself... do you love your PC more than you love its contribution to the game?

Just like with other skills, with new languages you start out with a very low skill level and have to learn more about it before it starts to work well.

I don't think this is a bug unless a) you're an elf or half-elf or b) you're a linguist.
Quote from: tapas on December 04, 2017, 01:47:50 AM
I think we might need to change World Discussion to Armchair Zalanthan Anthropology.

Larrath, as with before I thank you.

You're help is much appreciated.

But the thing is the elf could understand me even with a low knowledge in the skill.
Don't listen to me, I'm only a newb.

You're welcome.

I'm not sure if you got your latest PM, but I truly would suggest you just email me with questions.  It's faster and more comfortable, believe me. :)

(mudling@gmail.com)
Quote from: Vesperas...You have to ask yourself... do you love your PC more than you love its contribution to the game?

Quote from: "drasik"But the thing is the elf could understand me even with a low knowledge in the skill.