Code idea for skillups

Started by Beethoven, July 20, 2016, 07:53:21 AM

I want to start off by saying I'm not a coder and I have never seen the Armageddon code, nor the real nitty-gritty of any MUD, whether DIKU or other. So I am well aware that I'm coming from a place of ignorance and may be (i.e. probably am) spouting nonsense.

The "skill up by failing" system has been discussed and criticized many times. It seems like a lot of people would like it if there was a small chance to skill up on success, so that people don't go around doing ridiculous things to achieve fails. However, it seems to be understood that such a change would require a full overhaul of the skill system, and perhaps other systems that are connected to it, and it'd just be a big mess that'd be a massive amount of work and would probably break everything forever and then wouldn't we be sorry. Now, maybe with my idea we'd still end up in the same place, but I thought I'd propose it and maybe someone with more knowledge of coding could pick it apart/improve it/laugh at it.

We know there are two categories of fails based on the range your roll falls in: regular and critical. I propose a third category of "fail" that is treated as a fail by the skill-up code, but actually produces a success. For the purposes of this proposal I'll call it a "false fail." It could be a slim range at the high end of success in order to encourage people to do their best, but people who can see the code would probably know what range would be ideal. You would not know when you achieve a false fail, but there would be a chance of skilling up based on your wisdom.

I know this would probably also be a really big unwieldy deal to code, but I wondered if players/staff had thought of it before and whether it might be more tackleable some day in the unforeseen future than a pure "chance to skill up on success" system. Thoughts?