sparring dummies

Started by askaran, March 31, 2007, 07:00:29 PM

when you attack a sparring dummy its safe to assume your not going to actully hurt it. in fact your blows bounce off it. But im new to training with these. And i was wondering how you could tell if your advanicing in skill if you only train with these?
Quote from: Cutthroat on August 22, 2009, 10:57:13 PMSo Eunoli Winrothol, Samos Rennik, and Thrain Ironsword walk into a bar. The Red Fang bartender looks up and says, "Get the fuck out of my bar."

As with all skills, the only way you can tell if you're improving is by going out and testing it.  Good luck.
Quote from: WarriorPoet
I play this game to pretend to chop muthafuckaz up with bone swords.
Quote from: SmuzI come to the GDB to roleplay being deep and wise.
Quote from: VanthSynthesis, you scare me a little bit.

alright thank you. oh and one last question. does using a sparring dummy help you more or less than actually sparring with another person?
Quote from: Cutthroat on August 22, 2009, 10:57:13 PMSo Eunoli Winrothol, Samos Rennik, and Thrain Ironsword walk into a bar. The Red Fang bartender looks up and says, "Get the fuck out of my bar."

If it parallels real life, I'm sure sparring dummies are much less effective.

Think about it:  you can stand around slamming a heavy bag all day, but is it really going to make you a better boxer?  You might improve your endurance and your striking power, but it's going to do nothing to improve your technique or your tactical thinking.  The only way to become a better fighter (in any style) is to spar real opponents.
Quote from: WarriorPoet
I play this game to pretend to chop muthafuckaz up with bone swords.
Quote from: SmuzI come to the GDB to roleplay being deep and wise.
Quote from: VanthSynthesis, you scare me a little bit.

alright than. thanks again.