I'm in the market for something better. Here's mine:
It's early morning, you feel exhausted, and you're running. [hp/HP][stun/STUN][mv/MV]
test prompt #1: <%h/%HH %t/%TS %m/%MM %v/%VV>\n\nYou're %w during %e and you feel %O.\n
[character] #/#h, #/#e, #/#s [armed|sleeping|walking|language]
[early morning|riding: none|ldesc : is whatever.]
This is what I use:
<#/#h - #/#v - #/#s - late morning - standing - unarmed - walking>
My prompt is kind of unwieldy. I leave out max numbers for mana and such.
<h/s/t/m/standing/walking/vis/not flying>
I totally dig my prompt. It took much experimentation. I'll give the code for it and an example.
< %n | %h/%H HP | %v/%V MV | %t/%T ST | %o/%a | %e > (Add mana between HP and move if playing a mage)
Example:
< Awesome | 500/500 HP | 900/900 MV | 800/800 ST | sirihish/tribal | late at night >
MAX/currenthp MAX/currentmv MAX/currentst, riding: none, late morning>
I had mood on there before. It was usually set to neutral. Plus get what I have no much longer and it has to wrap to another screen.
And I can't make my infobar work right.
Quote from: NoteworthyFellow on April 01, 2009, 11:39:29 PM
I totally dig my prompt. It took much experimentation. I'll give the code for it and an example.
< %n | %h/%H HP | %v/%V MV | %t/%T ST | %o/%a | %e > (Add mana between HP and move if playing a mage)
Example:
< Awesome | 500/500 HP | 900/900 MV | 800/800 ST | sirihish/tribal | late at night >
I think this one is awesome, and now I'm using it.
This is what I use always. I like the way it looks and I have it set up as an alias... (I used to die and then have to go through logs to remember how I had it set up.)
prompt %hhp %vmv %tst |%s|%w|%o|%A|%e|
CURRENThp CURRENTmv CURRENTst |standing|walking|sirihish|armed|dawn|
EDIT: Had MAX where I should have had CURRENT.
HOW would I utilizing a macro system, make a prompt that blinks when I get below a certain health level or stun level or something along that lines? any takes on that?
Quote from: mansa on April 01, 2009, 11:43:04 PM
Quote from: NoteworthyFellow on April 01, 2009, 11:39:29 PM
I totally dig my prompt. It took much experimentation. I'll give the code for it and an example.
< %n | %h/%H HP | %v/%V MV | %t/%T ST | %o/%a | %e > (Add mana between HP and move if playing a mage)
Example:
< Awesome | 500/500 HP | 900/900 MV | 800/800 ST | sirihish/tribal | late at night >
I think this one is awesome, and now I'm using it.
Woohoo, I was helpful!
I'm considering adding to it--including such things as walking speed, visibility, flight status, etc., where applicable. Of course, that also makes it crazy long, but I think I may be able to handle it.
< %h/%H | %m/%M | %t/%T | %v/%V |%e|%s >
hp mana stun stam time position
How it looks:
< 100/100 | 75/105 | 100/100 | 136/145 |dusk|resting >
hp/maxhp, stamina/maxstamina, stun/maxstun, movement speed, time>
prompt <%e | %o/%a | %k | %A | %s/%w>\n<H%h/%H S%t/%T M%m/%M V%v/%V>
<dawn | sirihish/tribal | riding: an inix | unarmed | standing/walking>
<H4000/4000 S9999/9999 M10293/10293 V24398/24398>
Quote from: Winterless on April 02, 2009, 12:44:19 AM
prompt <%e | %o/%a | %k | %A | %s/%w>\n<H%h/%H S%t/%T M%m/%M V%v/%V>
<dawn | sirihish/tribal | riding: an inix | unarmed | standing/walking>
<H4000/4000 S9999/9999 M10293/10293 V24398/24398>
That sounds like a lot of useless stuff! Let me fix it for you, tsk.
How can people have more than one line in their prompt? That would drive me crazy, even on a 21" monitor..
I coded something in javascript that tells me what time it is in game without being in it.. Don't need it in my prompt. (Hopefully it's legal, yes?)
prompt Health(%h/%H) Stun(%t/%T) Stamina(%v/%V) [=%a=] [%e] \n
Health(100/100) Stun(100/100) Stamina(100/100) [=southern=] [dawn]
For the most part, I try to keep it basic. A single line of prompt. Anything more just seems... Useless?
Quote from: Zoltan on April 01, 2009, 11:37:01 PM
My prompt is kind of unwieldy. I leave out max numbers for mana and such.
Actually, I like that idea. I might just start leaving out my max numbers so it "feels" more real.
<xxx/xxxHP - xxx/xxxStam - xxx/xxxStun> xxx
<english - southern - horny - dawn>
<unarmed - riding: none - standing - walking>
don't feel like figuring out the sytax again.
prompt %h/%H %v/%V %t/%T %s-%w-%o-%a (%e)\n%m-%L>\n
95/107 124/149 101/110 standing-walking-kentu-tribal (dawn)
157-ldesc: stands here with a doobie in his lips.>
prompt %h/%H %v/%V %t/%T %w %s %A %o %e %k
It's simple, but useful.
<100/100::150/150::100/100::90/90>
[standing|sneaking|not flying|Vis]
The numbers are in this order: HP, Stam, Stun, and MP.
i use my customized infobar for mushclient (as seen here. (http://www.zalanthas.org/gdb/index.php/topic,32281.msg425625.html#msg425625)) and thus have no ugly prompt taking up precious space.
(http://www.crapyclawn.net/arma/startup/imgs/infobar2.gif)
Quote from: Ampere on April 02, 2009, 03:10:18 AM
Quote from: Agent_137 on April 02, 2009, 02:53:52 AM
magick.
I now regret investing as much time as I have into zmud. Thank you for showing me the error of my ways.
You can do pretty much the same thing in zMUD, I'm sure.
In fact...I think in cMUD you can have customizable little pop-up windows that you can move around, displaying whatever variables you'd like.
Basically, you could put every single option in your prompt, have cMUD/zMUD squelch it and capture all the data to variables, then display it in a separate popup window placed wherever you'd like.
That's what I gather from reading the helpfiles, anyway. I haven't actually attempted it, because I'm not a code junkie.
prompt <%h/%Hhp %v/%Vmv %t/%Tst | %A %w %s | %a-accented %o | %k | time: %e>\\n
Gagged and placed into the infobar in zMUD because it would look very clunky in the main window.
Just the essentials: prompt <%h/%H;%v/%V;%m/%M;%t/%T>
My prompt is stripped down to the bare bones and has been for as long as I can remember. It goes something like:
<%h/%Hhp - %v/%Vmv - %t/%Tstn>
OR
<%h/%Hhp - %v/%Vmv - %t/%Tstn>(%m)
<9000/9000hp - 9000/9000mv - 9000/9000stn>
<0/100, 0/100, 0/100, 0/100><standing, walking, unarmed, sirihish><dawn>
health, stam, stun, mana
...but my prompt kind of changes with each character. For some is important to know accent, for some it's unimportant to know language (because knowing just one), mages need mana while mundanes don't etc.
Here's mine
%n-HP: %h/%H HP, Stamiana:%v/%V, Stun:%t/%T Time:%e
150/150;200/200;120/120> Random text of whatever I'm doing.
With the first set being hp, second is stamina, third is stun.
Booyah!
(http://i608.photobucket.com/albums/tt170/ampere_1980/zmudstatusbar.jpg)
I kinda like mine, nice and compact and get's me what i need
<0/100 - 0/100 - 0/100>
unarmed, walking, and resting:
aka:
<%h/%H - %v/%V - %t/%T>\n%A, %w, and %s:
As some sort of challenge, someone should try playing Arm without ever seeing his health, movement and stun points ;)
Quote from: Malken on April 03, 2009, 01:30:33 AM
As some sort of challenge, someone should try playing Arm without ever seeing his health, movement and stun points ;)
I'd actually kind of like to design a script that's a little like that. Instead of showing health, movement, or stun points, it could use the already in-game descriptors for them (with new ones for stun). For example:
< You are in excellent condition, you are well-rested, and you are alert. >
Or...
< You are in moderate condition, you are exhausted, and you are lightheaded. >
Y'know, stuff like that. Basically, an option to play without any numerical indicators of health, movement, or stun.
%h/%Hhp %v/%Vmv %t/%Tst | %A and %w>
My prompt is never the same between two PCs, although it can be pretty close. For example, unless I'm playing a linguist, I typically won't put a language section in the prompt, but I ALWAYS start out the prompt with my current PC's name. When an old PC dies, I tend to need a little while to remember the name of who this strange new PC I'm playing is.
Typically, it'll be something like:
<Amos : 90/100hp 100/125st 6/100sn : Southern/Sirihish>
<%n : %h/%Hhp %v/%Vst %t/%Tsn : %a/%o>
<Amossarusla : 90/100hp 100/125st 6/100sn 100/180mg : Rinthi/Tatlum>
<%n : %h/%Hhp %v/%Vst %t/%Tsn %m/%Mmg : %a/%o>
I find it helpful to toss how fast you're walking in there, too. I'm not a fan of time in the prompt, I usually just spam "ti" ICly, or let my PCs goof up and forget/loose track of time.
<23/100hp> <45/155mv> <110/120st> <150/150m>
My current prompt is like
Health: (100/101 | 88/100) Stamina: (200/300)
[ldesc] speaking sirihish, southern, running, armed, standing
>
Two and a > lines, ick. Second part of the health is stun. Hehe, I find it amusing that I always forget I'm using ldesc. My current char has a very strong grasp of time, so I'm replacing it with position/armed status because he's stupid enough that he always forgets that he's running around with a big hammer in hand.
Quote from: NoteworthyFellow on April 01, 2009, 11:39:29 PM
I totally dig my prompt. It took much experimentation. I'll give the code for it and an example.
< %n | %h/%H HP | %v/%V MV | %t/%T ST | %o/%a | %e >
I like that one. I'm stealing it ;)
<%h|%v|%s>
Or if I'm playing a magicker:
<%h|%v|%s|%m>
I don't bother with maximums.
I win for clunkiest prompt so far :D
[hp/maxhp|stam/maxstam|stun/maxstun]
[speed|armed|riding|lang/accent]
[ldesc|mood|time]\n
stuff
(I am an info freak. If I'm playing a magicker, mana goes after stun on the top line.) I know it's spammy, but it's also thorough.
>prompt <%h/%t/%v>
<100/110/123>
However, it seems like I type score/stat/skills/equipment about a hundred times an hour -- sometimes for absolutely no other reason than out of habit.
-LoD
%h/%Hhp %t/%Tst %v/%Vmv>
100/100hp 110/110st 120/120mv>
for most characters.
%h/%Hhp %t/%Tst %v/%Vmv>\n You are %w.
100/100hp 110/110st 120/120mv>
You are sneaking.
for burglars and assassins.
%h/%Hhp %t/%Tst %v/%Vmv>\n<%m/%M>Mana
100/100hp 110/110st 120/120mv>
<118/118>Mana
for magickers.
Oh yeah, I've been messing around with putting time in my prompt lately. Haven't decided exactly how I like that part yet though.
prompt %h/%HH %v/%Vmv %t/%T %w %s>\n
200/200H 300/626mv 200/200 walking standing>
That's my basic one. Add in mana when applicable or accent/language if necessary at the end. And now that I look at this, I wonder why I have the ' > ' on there since I started putting in \n to have commands go on a new line.
why don't more of you people use infobars? i'm blown away by this. do you actually prefer a prompt on every line instead of a little toolbar that auto-updates with your stamina, stun, etc etc? Or is it because you don't know how to set one up and it's not worth the effort?
(because I could expand my work on infobars to make it very customizable and easy to setup if there is interest.)
Quote from: Agent_137 on April 07, 2009, 05:27:28 PM
why don't more of you people use infobars? i'm blown away by this. do you actually prefer a prompt on every line instead of a little toolbar that auto-updates with your stamina, stun, etc etc? Or is it because you don't know how to set one up and it's not worth the effort?
I have NO clue as to how to set it up. If I could set up a clean one within CMUD using the prompt I'd use I'd be all over it in a heart beat. Would help dramatically in cleaning up my logs too.
I can get you a key for CMUD if you want to fux with it man. I can pay you if yourself, Brady and I ever get together in whatever beer is your favorite.,
Brandon
well i already built one for mushclient. send me the key via email (see my gdb profile.) I'll see how easy it is on Cmud. Those seem to be the two most popular clients anyway.
Quote from: Agent_137 on April 07, 2009, 05:35:12 PM
well i already built one for mushclient. send me the key via email (see my gdb profile.) I'll see how easy it is on Cmud. Those seem to be the two most popular clients anyway.
It's hidden man. You can PM it to me.
Quote from: Agent_137 on April 07, 2009, 05:35:12 PM
well i already built one for mushclient. send me the key via email (see my gdb profile.) I'll see how easy it is on Cmud. Those seem to be the two most popular clients anyway.
Can you give me the mushclient one, or show me how or whatever I'm supposed to do.
Quote from: RogueGunslinger on April 07, 2009, 05:50:24 PM
Can you give me the mushclient one, or show me how or whatever I'm supposed to do.
Can I?! Fuck yes! I spent about 16 hours customizing and improving it, so I feel the need to share.
How much do you already have mushclient customized?
If very little, just use my "it just works" version of the Mushclient itself.
http://www.crapyclawn.net/arma/startup/MUSHclient.zip
(you must unzip it into C:\Program Files\MUSHclient)
However if you already have Mushclient just so, and you ONLY want the infobar:
www.crapyclawn.net/arma/startup/infobar.lua
(you must read the contents of that file. Open it in notepad. It has install instructions.)
I can't find C:\Program Files\MUSHclient\scripts\infobar.lua All there is in the scripts folder is exampscript.lua
QuoteI can't find C:\Program Files\MUSHclient\scripts\infobar.lua All there is in the scripts folder is exampscript.lua
if you got the 'it just works' version, yo udon't need to configure anything. just turn it on!
if you got the infobar.lua file itself, but not the zip, you have to -save- it into that location.
Quote from: RogueGunslinger on April 08, 2009, 02:50:58 AM
I can't find C:\Program Files\MUSHclient\scripts\infobar.lua All there is in the scripts folder is exampscript.lua
Same here.
Also I changed my prompt to something a little less clunky.
prompt <%h/%H - %v/%V - %t/%T> %e <%a %o> \
<302/302 - 310/323 - 179/190> dawn <accent sirihish>
if you change the prompt, it won't work. The whole point is that the prompt disappears all-together.
if you use the .zip file, you don't need to find infobar.lua at all. Or ever download it! Just unzip it into c:\program files\mushclient. then run the mushclient exe and it should all work except. The last thing you must do is change your prompt to:
prompt %h %H %t %v %V %e %w %A %s\n>
change your prompt to that and watch it disappear. (sorry i forgot to tell you about that critical bit of info.)
if you are -just- downloading infobar.lua, then you need to save it into the MushClient\scripts\ folder and follow the instructions in the .lua file.
I changed my prompt after I failed the setup.
ah. Well, did you get it working after my last post? I'm on the edge of my seat here. I know it's a few steps but I want to share the infobar and try my best to make it an easy setup.
If you two have further trouble though, i'm just going to package it into an .exe next.
Quote from: Agent_137 on April 08, 2009, 01:36:24 PM
ah. Well, did you get it working after my last post? I'm on the edge of my seat here. I know it's a few steps but I want to share the infobar and try my best to make it an easy setup.
If you two have further trouble though, i'm just going to package it into an .exe next.
You get my PM man?
Brandon
yea, DL'd and installed. Not sure if i'mma F' with it soon though . . . especially since the mushclient version apparently still needs refining. ^^^
I think I'm going to check into the copyright that comes with Mushclient. I'd like to eventually have an executable that I can ask the IMMs to stick on the Arma site and say "this is our official recommended client, fully customized."
Quote from: Agent_137 on April 08, 2009, 01:36:24 PM
ah. Well, did you get it working after my last post? I'm on the edge of my seat here. I know it's a few steps but I want to share the infobar and try my best to make it an easy setup.
If you two have further trouble though, i'm just going to package it into an .exe next.
Yeah, Not even the zip worked for me, it gave me an error message about... well I can't remember. It ran and played Arm just fine, but no infobar. It's probably just me, but if you can make it any easier with an .exe than you rock, sir.
Im a minimalist.
HP:%h/%H MV:%v/%V ST:%t/%T
HP:100/100 MV:130/130 ST:110/110
%h;%t;%v;%s;%o
I like semi-colons and I know what my stat maxxes always are so there's no need to clutter up my prompt with them, and I know which ones are which since I haven't changed my prompt in nine years so I don't label them.
102;165;102;standing;sirihish