Change to rope and grappling hooks.

Started by LidlessEye, December 04, 2022, 04:23:21 PM

December 04, 2022, 04:23:21 PM Last Edit: December 04, 2022, 04:28:37 PM by LidlessEye
Good day. I'll start with a little disclaimer. I have no coding background and very little knowledge of how code works so I apologize beforehand if my idea is incompatible with it.

On to the actual idea: what if the grappling hook and rope/analogues that aren't climbing accessories did not function as tools but similar to a tent where in they'd need to be secured and set up (with appropriate delays) and they'd make the climb very easy by modifying the flags in that room (s) . On the flip side, to prevent making it too easy, I also propose considerable stamina drain and time delays for those without climb using this. Moreover, if not guarded, someone could 'cut' the ropes or otherwise dismantle the system similar to how a tent can be destroyed, adding an element of risk.

The purpose of this being, RPTs that involve a lot of climbs become a little more inclusive.

Please provide feedback  :)
'One fire drives out one fire,
One nail, one nail.
Rights by rights falter,
Strengths by strengths do fail.'

-Tullus Aufidius, Coriolanus by William Shakespeare

I think this would both open many opportunities for non-wilderness roles to still be able to take part in wilderness RPTs with the necessary assistance of said wilderness rolls, not to mention malicious actors being able to go back behind the group and remove the grappling hooks to sabotage the return of the squishy non-wilderness roles and things of that nature.

I think it's a good idea.

December 05, 2022, 05:47:04 AM #2 Last Edit: December 05, 2022, 05:51:08 AM by Inks
I'm not super into it. With all the modern climbing gear in the world other than a ladder I can't get myself up a rope against a high cliff easily. Or at all.