Where Players Found Us: September 2014

Started by Talia, October 06, 2014, 05:01:15 PM

I think the best time for player run plots was when a player could become a Red Robe or start their own merchant house feasibly. Without, uh, getting stored.

EDIT: well, wrong thread.

It would be cool if there were 3-5 stock descriptions they could choose from, and they came with a matching generic sdesc. The tall, muscular man, the rangy, sinewy man, the brown-haired, green-eyed man, the towering, hale man, and matching ones for women. I think sometimes the 'effort' is what turns people off at character generation, combined with needing to wait for approval. Also include 3-5 stock backgrounds. I am a farmer, and I am coming to the city for the first time. Actually fuck it, make it a required background for beginning players, and vague enough that you could start in Tuluk or Allanak.

Since these are stock descriptions, sdescs, and backgrounds, make approval immediate.
"You will have useful work: the destruction of evil men. What work could be more useful? This is Beyond; you will find that your work is never done -- So therefore you may never know a life of peace."

~Jack Vance~

Quote from: Harmless on October 07, 2014, 07:36:06 PM
Give players two choices at character creation.

1.) Create a "real" character.
2.) Enter the game as an arena combatant using semi-randomly generated desc, background. Give them the ability to choose a race and such. Allow mantis and gith. Maybe allow muls for the cost of 2 or 3 tickets.
--Create a limit of three run throughs before the game forces experienced arena combatants to make a "real" character afterwards.
--After the player has played a real character, give them an "arena combatant" ticket to use for after they die.

Rinse and repeat. Also, give all old players 3 free arena combatant tickets when this feature is added.

kudos to nauta for stimulating me to suggest this. :)