poll: finding mentors

Started by Harmless, September 04, 2014, 12:35:00 PM

How long did it take you to find a mentor in game (hours of playtime / RL days playing)?

<3 hours or on my first RL day playing
15 (25.4%)
3-8 hours or two RL days
14 (23.7%)
9-15 hours or three RL days
4 (6.8%)
16-23 hours or 4-5 RL days
1 (1.7%)
24+ hours / about a RL week
2 (3.4%)
Much more than a week or after the first character into playing
7 (11.9%)
After 2 or more PCs
4 (6.8%)
I never really had a mentor when I was new.
12 (20.3%)

Total Members Voted: 58

Voting closed: October 04, 2014, 12:35:00 PM

Mentor, womentor, who sees any Tor these days?

In all seriousness, I don't think I had any specific mentor during my first year playing. I remember ending up in a clan that was really quiet at the time, and fortunately the clan immortal (Ashyom) was really good about animating to help a confused newbie in a lonely crafting hall.

Once I joined Kurac about a year after I started playing, you couldn't swing a dead quirri without hitting a mentor. The clan was full of them. (Mentors, not dead quirri.)
"No live organism can continue for long to exist sanely under conditions of absolute reality; even larks and katydids are supposed, by some, to dream." - Shirley Jackson, The Haunting of Hill House

Quote from: flurry on September 04, 2014, 08:05:38 PM
In all seriousness, I don't think I had any specific mentor during my first year playing. I remember ending up in a clan that was really quiet at the time

I think that's what really happened to me, maybe that's why I don't remember having a mentor...
Fredd-
i love being a nobles health points

I said 2 days because I don't think I played the first character longer than a day.  My first PC got into a clan, but it was a dead clan and I didn't have a mentor really.  But a Kadian dragged me out of a Kadian shop with my second PC and into awesome.
Former player as of 2/27/23, sending love.