Allanak and Tuluk

Started by Daar, February 28, 2014, 08:22:55 AM

Quote from: BadSkeelz on February 28, 2014, 06:06:48 PM
... and Noble Houses with more than two syllables in their name... Allanak was just easier to read up on.

I've been playing since 2005ish, and I can only name Winrothal. I think there's one that's really involved with plants too...

I've played a few Tulukis, and I personally dislike the city. When I do play there, I usually spend most of my time outdoors being rangery so I can avoid the quasi-clan of tavern sycophants and bards. Mer. Dont get me wrong, it's great for people who enjoy the social-political aspect of the game. Me, I'm here to hit people with bone swords.

To stop being butt-hurt and answer the question, I would say "yes/no." Resource-wise, Tuluk is way easier. Water is like 1/5 of the price. Food is both cheaper and easier to forage. There is an abundance of wildlife to not only harvest materials from, but to skill up against. (Allanak has precisely nothing that a 1 day player of any guild can safely hunt solo.) There may be fewer players, but the city unity means that it will be easy for someone who isn't completely obnoxious to make contacts and/or land a job, where-as in Allanak you essentially have to bring something to the table before anyone's going to want to team up with you, or trust you to go out hunting scrabs.

The "No" part of my answer comes from the personal feeling that... I wouldn't have stuck around with this game if Tuluk was my first experience. Lets face it, the Dark Sun atmosphere is what intrigues people about this game, and Allanak does a better job of conveying that. I read the Armageddon docs about how it's this harsh desert world, and then I roll up a character who lives in grasslands on the edge of a forest? I'd feel cheated. I think Allanak does a better job of drawing them in. And if straight Allanak ain't enough for you, you've also got the Rinth to kick it up a notch.