Newbie here, quick question "Language and You"

Started by rodic, January 31, 2014, 12:05:53 AM

Does 'JESUS H. CHRIST' not remind anyone else of Jagged Alliance 2?

Also don't do the whole fake cockney accent just because you're a ranger or some shit. It gets tiring quick.
Modern concepts of fair trials and justice are simply nonexistent in Zalanthas. If you are accused, you are guilty until someone important decides you might be useful. It doesn't really matter if you did it or not.

As long as I've been playing the game I've never seen someone talk as bad as the examples they tend to provide on the GDB.

Quote from: RogueGunslinger on February 01, 2014, 04:10:21 PM
As long as I've been playing the game I've never seen someone talk as bad as the examples they tend to provide on the GDB.

I  will admit, in the few hours I have had to actually play, I over heard two characters one time... and another character wandered a bit in the territory, but it wasn't -has- bad, but there was a few phrases/words that gave me pause, mouthing/saying them out loud helped, although it caused my wife to kind give me a weird look (although that is normal... I do play MUDs after all).

At this rate I think we are having fun with it in the thread.  I highly doubt any person with reasonable sanity could maintain it for extended periods of time... Their apostrophe key would demolished.

Main reason I brought it up, I was wondering if the player base had a unwritten or defacto convention or style for it that I hadn't seemly caught on to.

So far I've noticed dropping the "g" is popular, and makes clear sense.  words like "something" become "sum'tin"  for example, aren't so bad.  Mainly its for my own role play. I don't want to be the only commoner running around with perfect speech and pronunciation.  I know its no crime to be a newbie or new, or unfamiliar, but I also don't want to interrupt the play or be too out of place that it is jarring to other players.